If you are required to file an SR22 for the state of Arkansas contact an insurance company or agent who is licensed to sell insurance in Arkansas. You will be required to carry state minimum liability limits and continue the insurance policy for the duration of your specific court requirement. If you do not own a car ask your insurance company about a non-owner SR-22 policy.
Most offenses will require you to have this insurance for three years from the end date of any revocation. DWI and Refusal convictions SR-22 is required for five years from the end date of the first offense. SR22 insurance must be maintained for the life of the driver if there is Unsatisfied Judgment or after the fourth DWI or Refusal conviction.
Do not let the insurance policy lapse or cancel as the provider will notify the state and your license will be suspended again. The SR22 is an add on to a standard auto insurance policy that guarantees the state will be notified of any change in status and is commonly referred to as a future financial responsibility filing. You can change insurance companies but be sure to get a new SR22 filed before the old one is cancelled.
If you are involved in a motor vehicle accident that resulted in $1,000+ of property damage or injury/death of any person, regardless of fault, you must complete a form SR-21. This form must be submitted within thirty days of the accident.
If a driver is found to have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or refused the chemical test they will have seven days to request an administrative hearing. If during the hearing the driver is confirmed to have been driving with BAC of .08% or higher, refused the chemical test, or driving while intoxicated the driver’s license will be suspended for 6 months.
The first offense to refuse a chemical blood alcohol test is 180 days suspension.
The individual requiring an SR22 policy contacts a licensed insurance company authorized to operate in the State of Arkansas and pays a processing fee (the amount of the fee can vary) to the agency for them to submit an SR22 filing to the Arkansas State Department of Motor Vehicles. On the applicant’s behalf, the agency will file the form electronically with the State DMV as well as with the State of Arkansas. The insured will be given a copy of the SR22 insurance form, policy, and Proof of Insurance card. If the policyholder fails to provide proof of this insurance when required, suspension of a driver’s license will result.
The SR22 must be maintained for a minimum period of three years for first-time offenses. If the driver incurs no additional violations during this time, they may not have to continue carrying this insurance thereafter. If another offense occurs within the initial three year period, the driver will be required to keep the policy in effect for as long as five years. The time period increases with each additional offense.
THE SR22 INSURANCE MUST NOT BE ALLOWED TO LAPSE. It is important to keep the policy in effect, and to renew it in advance. The insurance company monitors the policy closely, and if it is allowed to lapse, be cancelled or is not renewed before the expiration date, the insuring agency will notify the Arkansas DMV. The State may then suspend their driving privileges until the SR22 insurance is reinstated, and additional reinstatement fees and/ penalties may be assessed.
NOTE: If the insured moves to another state, the requirements of the new state of residence will still apply. Be sure to contact your insurance provider for instructions before you move.